Cover image for Into the woods (Bernadette Peters version)
Into the woods (Bernadette Peters version)
Publication Information:
Chatsworth, CA : Distributed by Image Entertainment, [1999]
Physical Description:
1 videodisc (153 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
General Note:
DVD format.

"American Playhouse presents a Brandman production"--Container.

Originally broadcast in 1990.

Original production was the winner of 1998 Tony Awards for Best score, Best book and Best actress.
Act one. Once upon a time -- Into the woods -- Fly birds, back to the sky -- The witch's entrance -- Jack, Jack, Jack. Head in a sack -- You wish to have the curse reversed -- Ladies, our carriage waits -- The spell is on my house! -- Cinderella at the grave -- Hello, little girl -- I guess this is goodbye -- Maybe they're magic -- Rapunzel and the witch -- Little Red Riding Hood at Grandmother's -- I know things now -- A very nice prince -- First midnight -- Giants in the sky -- Agony -- It takes two -- Two midnights gone -- Stay with me -- On the steps of the palace -- There's a dead giant in my backyard! -- The witch is transformed -- Ever after -- Act two. So happy -- An earthquake? -- Agony -- The giant is a woman! -- Lament -- Any moment -- Moments in the woods -- The baker's tragedy -- Your fault -- Last midnight -- No more -- No one is alone -- The giant gets hers -- Finale -- No one is alone -- Children will listen -- Into the woods.
The fairy tale characters of Little Red Ridinghood, Cinderella, and Jack (and the Beanstalk) are linked together with the characters of a baker and his wife. Their stories intertwine as they all search for something different in the woods. After they have all found happiness, they must band together to fight a giant.
Added Uniform Title:
American playhouse (Television program)


Material Type
Call Number
Digital Video Disc (DVD) Into (1990)

On Order